North-Eastern Atlantic, Mediterranean and connected seas

Tsunami Information Centre

Tsunami Warning Focal Point (TWFP)

The Tsunami Warning Focal Point (TWFP) is a 7x24 contact person, or other official point of contact or address designated by a government, available at the national level for rapidly receiving and issuing tsunami event information (such as warnings).The Tsunami Warning Focal Point either is the emergency authority (civil defense or other designated agency responsible for public safety), or has the responsibility of notifying the emergency authority of the event characteristics (earthquake and/or tsunami), in accordance with national standard operating procedures. The Tsunami Warning Focal Point receives international tsunami warnings from the NEAMTWSor other regional warning centers.

Reception of the messages transmitted by the Regional Tsunami Watch Centres

Evaluate and issue national warnings in accordance with the National Emergency Plan

Transmission of warning messages to the National Emergency Authorities

Operating 24/7

 To date, five countries have offered to host TWPs: France, Greece, Italy, Portugal and Turkey; Germany has offered to provide backup for data collection and processing. In 2012 some of the national tsunami warning centres will offer interim operational tsunami watch provision, upon request, to the other member states of the NEAM region.


TWFPs List

Belgium Centre gouvernemental de coordination et de crise (CGCCR)
Bulgaria Bulgarian Institute of Oceanology (BAS)
Cape Verde Instituto Nacional de Meteorologia e Geophísica (INMG)
Croatia National Protection and Rescue Centre
Cyprus Cyprus Oceanography Centre, University of Cyprus (OC)
Denmark Danish Meteorological Institute (DMI)
Egypt National Research Institute of Astronomy and Geophysics (NRIAG)
Estonia Estonian Marine Institute, University of Tartu (EMI)
Finland Monitoring Center for Natural Disasters, Finnish Meteorological Institute (FMI) and Government Situation Center Finland, Prime minister's office
France Centre National d'Alerte aux Tsunamis (CENALT)

Federal Maritime and Hydrographic Agency (BSH)

Deutscher Wetterdienst (DWD)

Greece Institute of Geodynamics, National Observatory of Athens (NOA)
Israel Geophysical lnstitute of lsrael (GII)
Italy Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia
Lebanon National Center for Geophysical Research, National Council for Scientific Research (NCGR)
Malta Civil Protection Department (MJHA-CPD)
Monaco Compagnie des Sapeurs-Pompiers de Monaco (SPMC)
Netherlands Royal Netherlands Meteorological Institute (KNMI)
Norway Directorate for Civil Protection and Emergency Planning (DSB)
Poland National Centre for Coordination of Rescue Operations and Protection of Population, National Headquarters of the State Fire Service (KG PSP)

Instituto Português do Mar e Atmosfera (IPMA)

Romania National Institute for Earth Physics (NIEP)
Russian Federation State Institution Research and Production Association "Typhoon"
Spain Dirección General de Protección Civil y Emergencias (DGPCE)
Sweden Swedish Meteorological and Hydrological Institute (SMHI)
 Syria Syrian Wireless Organization (SWO), Ministry of Telecommunication and Technology

Kandilli Observatory and Earthquake Research Institute (KOERI)

Earthquake Department, Office of Prime Ministry, Disaster and Emergency Management Presidency (DEMP)

United Kingdom Humanitarian Operations, Department for International Development (DFID)